Apply to become a RACCA member

member logo2

Start your application for membership here

Visit and like RACCA Australia Facebook!

facebookLike us on Facebook to stay up-to-date with industry news, events and free members resources.

Follow us on Twitter!

Twitter icon

Follow RACCA Australia on Twitter to stay up-to-date with industry news and events. You can also follow fellow industry figures and companies on Twitter!

Follow us on LinkedIn!


Follow RACCA Australia on LinkedIn to stay up-to-date with industry news and events. You can also follow fellow industry figures and companies on LinkedIn.


2017 HVAC&R Leadership Awards finalists announced



Climate Control News have announced the finalists for the 2017 HVAC&R Leadership Awards.

The 2017 HVAC&R Leadership Awards comprise of seven categories: Leader in Energy Savings and Sustainability, Woman of the Year in HVAC&R, Innovator of the Year, Male & Female Rising Star, Tradie of the Year, Contractor of the Year, and HVAC&R Leader of the Year.

Climate Control News stated on their website that the Energy Savings and Sustainability Awards categories were combined for the first time this year, which lead to the creation of the Leader in Energy Savings and Sustainability Award category. There are three finalists for this Award: Thomas Heine from ebm-papst A/NZ, Nicholas Siountris from Dunnair Australia, and Peter Savtchenko from Toyesi Pty Ltd.

There are six finalists for the Woman of the Year in HVAC&R Award: Jessica Bennett from Aurecon, Irene Winter and Kelli McDonald, both from Airmaster, Pam Rogers from Precision Mechanical Services, Lilly Wood from Leading Edge Automation, and Caroline Grimmelsen from Grosvenor Engineering Group.

There are four finalists for the Innovator of the Year Award: Chris Matthews from Silenceair International for developing an acoustic ventilator, Vahid Vakiloroaya from Green HVAC Solution for his research and patents on energy efficiency, Paul Hawkins from TopWise for the creation of service management software solutions, and Samit Sen from Smart Connected Services at Johnson Controls for his work on analytics to address rising energy costs.

The newly created Male & Female Rising Star Award category attracted high entries and is the biggest category this year, with three female and five male finalists. The three female finalists are Jessica Teodoro, a graduate engineer from the Grosvenor Engineering Group, Shane Boyle, Heatcraft branch leader and refrigeration mechanic, and Jessica Thomson, an application engineer at Bueno Systems. The five male finalists are: Ian Van Eerden, a sustainability consultant from Northrop Consulting Engineers, Anton Holmes, General Manager and engineer from Automated Air, Brian Lieu, a mechanical engineer from Crest Air Conditioning, Sean Hart, a warranty and commissioning technician from Temperzone, and Jason Harrison, Airmaster State Manager.

There are four finalists for the very first Tradie of the Year Award. The four finalists are: Tom Bryant, refrigeration mechanic from D-STAL Electrical, Andrew Solomon, Jindabyne Refrigeration owner and operator, Jason Glendenning, mechanical technician from Grosvenor Engineering Group, and Ben McCullough, leading technician from Coolectrics Pty Ltd.

There are also four finalists for the very first Contractor of the Year Award. The four finalists are: Adam Wareing, Queensland State Manager of Workplace Access and Safety, Alan Patterson, Director of Specific Refrigeration and Mechanical Services, Ryan Malsem, Director of Cold Energy Automation, and Brad Wiseman, Managing Director of Airepair Air Conditioning Services.

There are five finalists for the HVAC&R Leader of the Year Award. Climate Control News states that this Award “recognises industry veterans that have made a significant contribution to the industry”. The five finalists are: Ken Ball from Teco Australia whose career spans half a century, Manfred Jarchow from New Insights who sold the first Powerpax/adiabatic package in Australia, Marc Abdelahad from Optergy who has been crucial in software development for mechanical and electrical systems, Brad Wiseman from Airepair Air Conditioning Services who has been Chair as well as a board member for AMCA and is also nominated for the Contractor of the Year Award, and Gary Rogers from TriTech Commercial Refrigeration who is well known for his extensive refrigeration career which kicked off in New Zealand.

The winners of the 2017 HVAC&R Leadership Awards will be announced at CCN Live in Sydney on August 24.





Image via Pixabay.





<< RACCA News

« Back to News